About AOA

From the national AOA website:

“Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society, a professional medical organization, recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine. Alpha Omega Alpha is to medicine what Phi Beta Kappa is to letters and the humanities and Sigma Xi is to science. Our values include honesty, honorable conduct, morality, virtue, unselfishness, ethical ideals, dedication to serving others, and leadership. Members have a compelling drive to do well and to advance the medical profession and exemplify the highest standards of professionalism.

Election to Alpha Omega Alpha is an honor signifying a lasting commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism, and service. A lifelong honor, membership in the society confers recognition for a physician’s dedication to the profession and art of healing.

More than fifty Nobel Prize winners in Physiology or Medicine, and in Chemistry, have been AΩA members. More than thirty of those were elected to AΩA prior to winning the Nobel Prize.

Nearly seventy-five percent of deans of U.S. medical schools are members of AΩA.”

The UT Southwestern Gamma Chapter strives to uphold these core values through maintaining scholastic excellence and giving back to the UT Southwestern community. Students accepted into the chapter are already leaders on campus and devoted to service. As members they are expected to continue a high level of involvement as representatives of AOA and UT Southwestern. This is done through several venues including focused service projects, mentoring of underclassmen, educational lecture series, and development of advisory resources.